You are here: MUMM > THE NORTH SEA IN BRIEF


Untitled Document

 In this section
 
Introduction
 
North Sea Facts
 
The Belgian part of the North Sea
 
Fishing
 
Harmful substances
   
 Related links
 
Management of the marine environment
 
Mathematical models
 

Monitoring of the North Sea

 
Send a North Sea e-card
   
 Recommend us
 
Send this page
by e-mail

The North Sea in brief

The North Sea may be a small, shallow pool compared with the oceans, but nevertheless it is teeming with life. The water and sediment are home to a wide variety of plants and animals. The North Sea is also a sensitive ecosystem that is under a great deal of pressure from intense human activities such as fishing, sand and gravel extraction, shipping, oil and gas extraction, tourism and industry. The entire North Sea is surrounded by densely populated, highly industrialised countries. The section along the Belgian coast is no exception to this. On the contrary.

The OSPAR Convention is an international agreement for the protection of the North East Atlantic Ocean, signed in Paris in 1992 by 15 countries and the European Union. The OSPAR Commission supervises the implementation of this agreement and produced the Quality Status Report in the year 2000. This report describes the current state of health of various areas of the North East Atlantic.

According to the report, the consequences of fishing, the inflow of harmful substances and the excessive quantities of nutrients in the sea (eutrophication) cause the main problems in the North Sea.

Some of the busiest shipping routes in the world cross the North Sea. As a result, the ecosystem is threatened by oil pollution which may range from small, occasional oil stains to huge oil spills caused, for instance, by shipping accidents.

In addition to the wealth of living organisms found along the Belgian coast, there are also the minerals. Sand and gravel are extracted for the construction industry. And the dredging activities should not be forgotten. Although this simply involves moving material from one place to another, we should not underestimate the physical effects and the possible contamination caused by the dumping of dredged material from the ports.

In addition to the industries in the coastal area and the economic activities carried out at sea, tourism and recreation also form an important social and economic activity. The Belgian coast is a great tourist attraction for both Belgian and foreign visitors. About 30 million people visit this coast every year, of whom about 17 million stay overnight. Of course, this also affects the dunes, the beaches and the water.

Given that it is not possible to ignore human activities when managing the North Sea ecosystem, we have to find and maintain the right balance between both aspects.

 Facts

 The Belgian part of the North Sea

 Fishing

 Harmful substances





Coastal forecast

TIDES
OSTEND
[TAW]
 
Time
Elev.
 Low
7:30
0.29 m
 High
13:20
4.76 m
 Table Graph North Sea animation Belgian coastal zone animation

Harmonic prediction 
Ostend 1980–2020:
  *to
Enter as YYYY-MM-DD
  
WIND
WESTHINDER
 Speed 5.97 m/s 
 Sector 343° , NNW 
 Table Graph Line plot North Sea animation
  
WAVES
AKKAERT
 Height 1.11 m
 Table Graph North Sea animation
  
CURRENTS
WESTHINDER
 Graph ploar plot Line plot North Sea animation Belgian coastal zone animation
  
TEMPERATURE
OSTEND
 Graph Daily maps
  
SALINITY
OSTEND
 Graph Daily maps
  
TRANSPORT
  Daily maps
  


 © MUMM | BMM | UGMM 2002–2014 webmaster@mumm.ac.be
 MUMM is a department of the Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Sciences

Vous êtes ici: UGMM > LA MER DU NORD EN BREF


Untitled Document

 Dans cette section
 
Introduction
 
Données factuelles
 
Partie belge de la mer du Nord
 
Pêche
 
Substances dangereuses
   
 Liens connexes
 
Gestion de l'environnement marin
 
Modèles mathématiques
 

Monitoring de la mer du Nord

 
Cartes postales virtuelles
   
 Recommander
 
Envoyez cette page
par e-mail

La mer du Nord en bref

La mer du Nord pourrait être qualifiée de "mare aux canards" en comparaison des océans, mais elle n'en est pas moins d'une grande richesse de vie. L'eau et les sédiments recèlent en effet une grande diversité de faune et de flore. La mer du Nord est également un écosystème sensible soumis à de fortes pressions par les activités humaines comme la pêche, l'exploitation de sable et de gravier, la navigation maritime, l'exploitation pétrolière et gazeuse, le tourisme et l'industrie. La mer du Nord est entourée de pays densément peuplés et fortement industrialisés. Et la partie de la mer du Nord qui baigne la côte belge n'y fait pas exception, bien au contraire.

La convention OSPAR est un accord international pour la protection de l'Atlantique nord signé par quinze pays et l'Union européenne en 1992 à Paris. La commission OSPAR veille à l'exécution de cet accord et a publié en 2000 le Quality Status Report. Ce rapport décrit l'état de santé actuel de différentes zones de l'Atlantique nord.

D'après le rapport, les principaux problèmes observés dans la mer du Nord trouvent leur origine dans la pêche, les rejets de substances dangereuses et l'enrichissement excessif de la mer en substances nutritives (eutrophisation).

Quelques-unes des voies de navigation maritime les plus densément fréquentées du monde traversent notre mer du Nord. L'écosystème se trouve dès lors menacé par la pollution aux hydrocarbures qui peut aller de petites pollutions occasionnelles à de grandes nappes d'hydrocarbures, notamment à la suite d'accidents avec des navires.

Outre les organismes vivants, notre littoral est également riche en minéraux. Le sable et le gravier y sont exploités pour l'industrie de la construction. N'oublions pas non plus les travaux de dragage. Même s'il ne s'agit dans ce cas que du déplacement de matières d'un endroit à un autre, il ne faut pas minimiser les effets physiques et la contamination éventuelle résultant du déversement des déblais de dragage provenant des ports.

Parallèlement aux industries du littoral et aux activités économiques réalisées en mer, le tourisme et les loisirs représentent également une activité socio-économique importante. La côte belge est un lieu d'attraction touristique qui accueille aussi bien des visiteurs belges qu'étrangers. Chaque année, ce ne sont pas moins de 30 millions de personnes qui fréquentent notre littoral, dont environ 17 millions y séjournent. Ce qui produit également des effets sur les dunes, les plages et l'eau.

Sachant qu'il n'est pas possible de négliger les activités humaines dans le cadre de la gestion de l'écosystème de la mer du Nord, nous devons trouver un bon équilibre entre les deux volets et veiller à leur maintien.

 Données factuelles

 La partie belge de la mer du Nord

 Pêche

 Substances dangereuses





Prévisions côtières

MARÉES
OSTENDE
[TAW]
 
Heure
Elev.
 Basse
15:20
1.08 m
 Haute
21:40
3.44 m
 Table Graph North Sea animation Belgian coastal zone animation

Marées harmoniques 
Ostende 1980–2020:
  *à
Format date AAAA-MM-JJ
  
VENT
WESTHINDER
 Vitesse 8.90 m/s 
 Secteur 65° , ENE 
 Table Graph Line Plot North Sea animation
  
VAGUES
AKKAERT
 Hauteur 1.18 m
 Table  Graph  North Sea animation
  
COURANTS
WESTHINDER
 Graph Ploar plot Line plot North Sea animation Belgian coastal zone animation
  
TEMPÉRATURE
OSTENDE
 Graph Cartes journalières
  
SALINITÉ
OSTENDE
 Graph Cartes journalières
  
TRANSPORT
  Daily maps
  

 

 © MUMM | BMM | UGMM 2002–2017 webmaster@mumm.ac.be
 L'UGMM est un département de l'Institut Royal des Sciences Naturelles de Belgique