You are here: MUMM > MANAGEMENT


Untitled Document

 In this section
 
Introduction
 
Land-based pollution
 
Activities at sea
 
Emergency interventions
 
Nature conservation and biodiversity
 
Recent legislation
 
Marine management atlas
   
 Related links
 
Combatting pollution
Bonn agreement
 
The North Sea
Belgium's eleventh province
 
See also:
Coast guard service
   
 Recommend us
 
Send this page
by e-mail

Management of the marine environment

The marine ecosystem suffers various forms of contamination and pressure resulting from human activities. Protecting and constantly improving the quality of this ecosystem is a matter for everyone and a number of cooperation and consultation mechanisms are applied in this area.

It has become customary to make a distinction between these forms of contamination and pressure, depending on whether they are land-based or are due to the effects of activities undertaken at sea or the consequences of accidents. However, there is an increasing trend in favour of adopting an integrated approach aimed at preserving nature and protecting biological diversity.

When you look at a sea chart you realise that nothing can be done without real international cooperation. And this is most effective at 'regional' level, which for us means the north-east Atlantic and the North Sea. The key instruments in this context are the OSPAR Convention for the Protection of the Marine Environment of the North-East Atlantic (Paris, 1992), the Bonn Agreement for cooperation in dealing with pollution of the North Sea by oil and other harmful substances (1983) and the system of International Conferences on the Protection of the North Sea.

MUMM leads the Belgian delegation at these fora. Consequently it has to define the Belgian positions beforehand, uphold them in meetings and ensure that the decisions taken are implemented, in particular by means of appropriate legislation.

Within the European Union, various actions have also been taken or are under discussion which have an indirect or direct impact on the quality of the marine environment. Among these, the framework directive on water 2000/60/EC is an important new factor in marine environmental policy. During the Belgian Presidency (second half of 2001), MUMM piloted a draft recommendation on the implementation of a system of integrated management of the coastal areas in Europe. A political agreement was reached during the Council of Environment Ministers on 29 October 2001.

The North Sea is an open sea, accounting for just a small proportion of the oceans covering the planet, and the governing system, which is established by the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea. This justifies the fact that certain initiatives have a worldwide dimension. Debates and discussion are held on these initiatives within specialised United Nations Agencies, such as the International Maritime Organisation, in which MUMM takes an active role through the Marine Environmental Protection Committee. Furthermore, the oceans are the subject of Chapter 17 of Agenda 21 from the Rio Conference (1992), which MUMM assesses on a regular basis as far as Belgium is concerned. Finally, it takes part in the preparation mechanism for the annual debate of the United Nations General Assembly on the oceans.

The topics dealt with only very rarely cover one sector, and therefore in Belgium they require in-depth consultation with the other competent federal departments and the Regions. This is organised primarily in the context of the 'North Sea and Oceans' steering group of the Coordinating Committee for International Environment Policy, chaired by MUMM and for which it provides the secretariat - the annual reports are available. Operational coordination takes place within the Coast Guard structure laid out by the cooperation agreement of July 8, 2005.





Coastal forecast

TIDES
OSTEND
[TAW]
 
Time
Elev.
 Low
15:40
0.94 m
 High
9:20
3.88 m
 Table Graph North Sea animation Belgian coastal zone animation

Harmonic prediction 
Ostend 1980–2020:
  *to
Enter as YYYY-MM-DD
  
WIND
WESTHINDER
 Speed 9.11 m/s 
 Sector 241° , WSW 
 Table Graph Line plot North Sea animation
  
WAVES
AKKAERT
 Height 1.56 m
 Table Graph North Sea animation
  
CURRENTS
WESTHINDER
 Graph ploar plot Line plot North Sea animation Belgian coastal zone animation
  
TEMPERATURE
OSTEND
 Graph Daily maps
  
SALINITY
OSTEND
 Graph Daily maps
  
TRANSPORT
  Daily maps
  


 © MUMM | BMM | UGMM 2002–2014 webmaster@mumm.ac.be
 MUMM is a department of the Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Sciences

Vous êtes ici: UGMM > MANAGEMENT


Untitled Document

 Dans cette section
 
Introduction
 
Pollution tellurique
 
Activités en mer
 
Interventions d'urgence
 
Conservation de la nature
 
Législation récente
 
Atlas de gestion marine
   
 Liens connexes
 
Lutte contre la pollution
Accord de Bonn
 
La mer du Nord
Notre onzième province
 
Voir aussi:
Garde côtière
   
 Recommander
 
Envoyez cette page
par e-mail

Gestion de l'environnement marin

L'écosystème marin subit diverses formes de contaminations et de pressions résultant des activités humaines. Sa protection et l'amélioration constante de sa qualité est l'affaire de tous : plusieurs mécanismes de coopération et de concertation sont actifs en ce domaine.

L'habitude a été prise de distinguer ces contaminations et pressions suivant qu'elles sont d'origine tellurique, liées aux activités exercées en mer ou résultant d'accidents. Mais on adopte de plus en plus une approche intégrée visant la conservation de la nature et la protection de la diversité biologique.

Consulter une carte marine suffit pour se convaincre que rien n'est possible sans une réelle coopération internationale. Et c'est à l'échelle "régionale" — pour nous, le Nord-Est Atlantique et la mer du Nord — qu'elle est le plus efficace. Les instruments-clés dans ce contexte sont la Convention OSPAR pour la protection du milieu marin de l'Atlantique du Nord-Est (Paris, 1992), l'Accord de Bonn concernant la coopération en matière de lutte contre la pollution de la mer du Nord par les hydrocarbures et autres substances dangereuses (1983) et le système des Conférences internationales sur la protection de la mer du Nord.

L'UGMM assure la tête de la délégation belge dans ces fora: elle doit donc définir au préalable les positions belges, les défendre en réunion et veiller à la mise en œuvre des décisions prises, notamment par la voie d'une législation appropriée.

Au sein de l'Union Européenne, diverses actions ayant un impact indirect ou direct sur la qualité du milieu marin ont été également prises ou sont en discussion. Parmi elles, la Directive-Cadre Eau 2000/60/CE constitue un fait nouveau important dans la politique environnementale marine. Au cours de la Présidence belge (2d semestre 2001), l'UGMM a été le pilote d'un projet de recommandation sur la mise en œuvre d'une gestion intégrée des zones côtières en Europe sur lequel un accord politique a été obtenu, lors de Conseil des Ministres de l'Environnement du 29 octobre 2001.

La mer du Nord est une mer ouverte, une petite partie des océans recouvrant la planète et dont le régime est fixé par la Convention des Nations Unies sur le Droit de la Mer. Cela justifie que certaines initiatives aient une dimension mondiale. Elles font l'objet de débats et de décisions dans le cadre des Agences spécialisées des Nations Unies, comme par exemple l'Organisation Maritime Internationale où l'UGMM est active via le Marine Environmental Protection Committee. De plus, les océans font l'objet de Chapitre 17 de l'Agenda 21 de la Conférence de Rio (1992) dont l'évaluation régulière est assurée par l'UGMM pour ce qui concerne la Belgique. Enfin, elle participe au mécanisme de préparation du débat annuel de l'Assemblée Générale des Nations Unies sur les océans.

Les dossiers traités ne sont que très rarement mono-sectoriels et requièrent donc en Belgique une concertation approfondie avec les autres départements fédéraux compétents et les Régions. Cela s'organise principalement dans le cadre du Groupe directeur "Mer du Nord et Océans" du Comité de Coordination de la politique internationale environnementale dont l'UGMM assure la présidence et le secrétariat - les rapports annuels sont disponibles. Pour les aspects opérationnels, la coordination s'effectue dans le cadre de la structure Garde Côtière qui a été mise sur pied par l'accord de coopération du 8 juillet 2005





Prévisions côtières

MARÉES
OSTENDE
[TAW]
 
Heure
Elev.
 Basse
7:30
-0.24 m
 Haute
13:20
4.53 m
 Table Graph North Sea animation Belgian coastal zone animation

Marées harmoniques 
Ostende 1980–2020:
  *à
Format date AAAA-MM-JJ
  
VENT
WESTHINDER
 Vitesse 12.79 m/s 
 Secteur 201° , SSW 
 Table Graph Line Plot North Sea animation
  
VAGUES
AKKAERT
 Hauteur 1.43 m
 Table  Graph  North Sea animation
  
COURANTS
WESTHINDER
 Graph Ploar plot Line plot North Sea animation Belgian coastal zone animation
  
TEMPÉRATURE
OSTENDE
 Graph Cartes journalières
  
SALINITÉ
OSTENDE
 Graph Cartes journalières
  
TRANSPORT
  Daily maps
  

 

 © MUMM | BMM | UGMM 2002–2017 webmaster@mumm.ac.be
 L'UGMM est un département de l'Institut Royal des Sciences Naturelles de Belgique